Our Back Story
Hotel deLuxe began as the Hotel Mallory, commissioned in 1912 by Rufus Mallory. Even then it was a luxurious retreat: the Crystal Room (now the Screening Room) was a ballroom featuring Grand Piano and orchestra pit. In its previous life, the Green Room was a billiard room furnished with a pool table, crystal decanters of spirits and fine cigars. Across the lobby, ladies could socialize privately in the Lady’s Parlor, which is now the Editing Room.
The Mallory Hotel’s last major remodel was in the late 1940s, and was done in a Regency style, complete with imported European crystal chandeliers. In the mid-1950s, when Oregonians voted to allow liquor sales in bars, the iconic Driftwood Room was added.